Ibrahim Musa Gusau Elected as New NFF President

Share the News
Osaretin Balogban

Ibrahim Musa Gusau has been elected as the new President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) after an election was conducted on Friday.

See Also: NFF to face Potential Sanction by FIFA Over Contract Breach

Gusau became the 40th President of the NFF after being elected at the NFF’s 78th Elective Congress in Benin, Edo State.

The newly elected President got 21 votes to defeat his closest contender, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, who managed 12 votes.

Coming in third place, League Management Committee Chairman, Shehu Dikko, ended up with only six votes.

At the start of the election, only seven out of the total ten intending candidates contested for the position, as three candidates namely, Moukhtar Muhammed, Musa Amadu, and Yahaya Kwande withdrew before the election started.

Felix Anyansi Agwu became the new vice-president after defeating Sen. Obinna Ogba with a margin of 15 votes, although 10 out of 41 total votes cast were invalid.

Source: The Nation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *