Atiku Defeats Wike, Becomes PDP Presidential Candidate

Obiajulu Joel Nwolu

After weeks of dilly-dallying and horse-trading, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) yesterday ignored the clamour for the rotation of the 2023 presidency and elected former Vice President Atiku Abubakar as its presidential candidate for next year’s general election.

In his acceptance speech, Atiku pledged to unite Nigeria, describing his election as one of the freest in the history of the country.

Before the commencement of voting, one of the aspirants and Governor of Sokoto State, Hon. Aminu Tambuwal had stepped down from the race and asked his supporters to vote for Atiku.

Tambuwal also congratulated the former vice president after he emerged victorious.
The National Leader of All Progressives Congress (APC) and frontline presidential aspirant, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has congratulated Atiku on his victory and welcomed him to the presidential contest in the 2023 general election.

In the result of the primary election announced by the Chief Returning Officer and former President of the Senate, Senator David Mark, Atiku polled 371 votes to defeat his main challenger and Governor of Rivers State, Mr Nyesom Wike, who scored 237 votes. Former President of the Senate, Dr Bukola Saraki came a distant third with 70 votes, while Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Mr Udom Emmanuel and his counterpart in Bauchi State, Senator Bala Mohammed scored 38 votes and 20 votes, respectively.

The delegates cast 763 votes; 12 votes were voided while the number of valid votes was 751.
A former Senate President, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim got 14 votes while Mr Sam Ohuabunwa and the only female aspirant, Terila Diana Oliver, got one vote each.

A former Governor of Ekiti State, Mr Ayo Fayose got zero, while the Publisher of Ovation, Mr Dele Momodu, also got zero votes.

Following the alleged inducement of delegates in the ongoing primaries being conducted by political parties, the operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) yesterday stormed the venue of the PDP national convention in Abuja.

The officers who were in red jackets with the “EFCC” crested at the back, were seen in their numbers walking around and inside the venue.

Some of them were caught on camera searching the bags of some delegates.
Before the commencement of the voting, Tambuwal withdrew from the race and urged his supporters and delegates to vote for Atiku.

He said having consulted widely across the country, he decided to withdraw from the race for posterity.

 Dr Nwachukwu Anakwenze and Mr Mohammed Hayatu-Deen also withdrew from the race.

While Hayatu-Deen withdrew on Friday, Anakwenze announced his withdrawal during his remarks at the venue of the convention yesterday.

Anakwenze, however, urged the delegates to vote for aspirants that can develop the country.
 In his acceptance speech, Atiku pledged to unite the country, which he said, has been divided by the APC-led administration.

Read Also: INEC Bows To Pressure, Extends Deadline For Party Primaries

“Today, we are making another history which we believe will bring fundamental changes in the country, both by providing adequate security and fixing the economy,” he said.

He described the election as one of the freest and a milestone to bring about democratic changes in Nigeria.
Atiku sought the cooperation of his fellow contestants, promising to give them a sense of belonging in his administration.

He promised to deal decisively with insecurity and revive the economy.
Atiku also appealed to all aggrieved members of the party to return to the party, adding that the internal conflict resolutions would be reactivated to address and resolve all disputes.

The former vice president had in 1993, contested the Social Democratic Party presidential primary, losing to Moshood Abiola and Baba Gana Kingibe.

He was a presidential candidate of the Action Congress in the 2007 presidential election, coming third to Umaru Musa Yar’Adua of the PDP and Muhammadu Buhari of the ANPP.
He contested the presidential primary of the PDP during the 2011 presidential election losing out to incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan.

In 2014, he joined the APC ahead of the 2015 presidential election and contested the presidential primary but lost to Muhammadu Buhari.

In 2017, he returned to the PDP and was the party’s presidential candidate during the 2019 presidential election, but lost again to incumbent President Buhari.

Source: ThisDay

This post was written by Obiajulu Joel Nwolu.

The views expressed here belong to the author and do not necessarily reflect our views and opinions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.