2022 WCQ Playoffs: Was Referee Right To Cancel Penalty Awarded To Super Eagles?

Obiajulu Joel Nwolu

Former Nigerian forward, Daniel Amokachi has applauded the referee’s decision to disallow the penalty awarded to the Super Eagles in Friday’s 2022 World Cup qualifying playoffs against the Black Stars of Ghana.

Super Eagles
Super Eagles

But during the match, the Super Eagles were denied a chance to score a game-winning goal when the ball hit the hand of Iddrisu Baba from Oghenekaro Etebo’s effort.
However, there was a penalty call reversed by the Moroccan referee, Redouane Jiyed after a handball by Baba in the 76th minute.

Jiyed, however, was advised to check the VAR monitor on the side of the pitch and he changed his initial decision after spotting a foul by Kelechi Iheanacho on the Ghanaian prior to him handling the ball in the box.

Read Also: Eguavoen Hopes for Victor Moses’ Return to Super Eagles

And Amokachi believes that it would have been a stonewall penalty if Iheanacho had not pushed Baba in the build-up, insisting that the referee made the right call.

“When the referee was called back to look at the monitor, we knew it was going to be disallowed. That’s when I saw the trip,” Amokachi said on SuperSport along with Austin Okocha and John Paintsil.

“We saw the replay, the referee that went to see the monitor had a better chance to see it.

“It was a penalty kick one hundred percent without the pull, but when you look at it, a foul before the penalty kick, I think the referee got it spot on,” he added.

Source: CompleteSports

This post was written by Obiajulu Joel Nwolu.

The views expressed here belong to the author and do not necessarily reflect our views and opinions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.