2021 AFCON: Uzoho, Musa, Osimhen Among List of Invited Players For Crucial Benin, Lesotho Matches

367 Viewed Obiajulu Joel Nwolu 0 respond
2021 AFCON: Uzoho, Musa, Osimhen Among List of Invited Players For Crucial Benin, Lesotho Matches
Obiajulu Joel Nwolu

Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has shortlisted captain Ahmed Musa, deputy captain William Ekong and Napoli striker, Victor Osimhen who just returned from injury among a 24-man list for the upcoming 2021 African Cup of Nations qualifying matches against the Benin Republic and Lesotho later this month.

The Nigerian side currently top of Group E with eight points take on the Squirrels of Benin at the Stade Charles de Gaulle in Porto Novo on Saturday, 27th March. They will battle the Crocodiles of Lesotho at the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos State, three days later. Both games will round off proceedings for the qualifying rounds.

Among the invitees are Enyimba FC of Aba goalie John Noble, Rangers defender Leon Balogun, Fulham defender Olaoluwa Aina and Kenneth Omeruo. There is a first senior call for Spain –based forward Sadiq Umar.

German tactician Rohr included seven players on standby among whom are long –time goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi.

Nigeria could book their place at the continental showpiece with a game to spare before kick-off in Porto Novo, should Lesotho and Sierra Leone end their encounter in Maseru in a stalemate. The result would be known before kick-off in Porto Novo.

The List in Full:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, The Netherlands)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosa, Cyprus); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Unattached); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Sadiq Umar (Almeria FC, Spain); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (FC Girondins Bordeaux, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France)

Standby: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Peter Olayinka (Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Michael Olise (Reading FC, England); Adekunle Adeleke (Abia Warriors)

This post was written by Obiajulu Joel Nwolu.

The views expressed here belong to the author and do not necessarily reflect our views and opinions.

Don't miss the stories followAfrican News Today and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.
AGF Office Hasn’t Filed Investigation Against Tinubu – Malami

AGF Office Hasn’t Filed Investigation Against Tinubu – Malami

NLC Stages Protest at National Assembly

NLC Stages Protest at National Assembly

Related posts
Your comment?
Leave a Reply