Bola Ahmed Tinubu Emerges APC Presidential Flag Bearer

Bola Ahmed Tinubu has emerged as APC’s Presidential flag bearer for the 2023 general elections. Prior to the start of the convention, no one was exactly sure how the events will play out.

The front runners going into the elections were Tinubu, the Vice president, Osinbajo, Rotimi Amaechi and Senate President, Lawan. There had bee news of a consensus candidate in the person of Lawan. This was however refuted.

See Also: APC Presidential Primaries: Voting In Progress For 14 Aspirants

The picture started getting a bit clearer when, before the start of the polls, about 6 candidates stepped down for Bola Ahmed Tinubu. The candidates that stepped down are: Mrs Uju Ohanenye, Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, Mr Dimeji Bankole, Senator Godswill Akpabio, Senator Ibikunle Amosun and Professor Ajayi Borroffice.

Bola Ahmed Tinubu

At the end of the polls, Bola Ahmed Tinubu won with a wide margin. He got 1,271 votes, 955 more than his closest rival, Rotimi Amaechi who got 316 votes.

Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo came a distant 3rd with 235 votes. The votes gotten by other candidates are listed below:

Dave Umahi — 38
Yahaya Bello — 47
Ogbonnaya Onu — 1
Ahmed Sani — 4
Tunde Bakare — 0
Rochas Okorocha — 0
Ahmad Lawan — 152
Ben Ayade — 37

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *